Online community defined by kids

A rather random and disjointed video of kids–well mostly kids stating in a couple of words, gestures or signage what online community means to them. A little goofy, as you might guess, but a couple of nice insights popped out at me. My favourite? Nomothetic.

I’ve been doing research in this area for some time, but I’ve never gone to kids to ask them how they would describe their experiences online. Hmmm.. I think there’s a study lurking in this innocuous little example.

2 thoughts on “Online community defined by kids

  1. Rick, this is very good, thanks for pointing it out, I hadn’t seen it before.

    My favourite one, as a lover of non sequitars, was “nosegay” – huh?

    I was quite blown away by the diversity in the respondents. Along pretty much any *visible* metric I could think of, they were all over the map (except maybe ‘race’ and ‘language’ probably for related reasons).

    And I *love* the surprise at the end. Wonderful.

  2. Thanks for the comment, Scott. You’re quite right that the video includes a very wide array of respondents. I probably should have mentioned that in my post, rather than represent it as a video by kids.

Leave a Reply

