Connectivism course: nifty (and a little scary) design

I just sat in on the introductory material for the Connectivism and Connective Knowledge course (CCK08) being offered by George Siemens and Stephen Downes. I’m really impressed with how they have made an amorphous design make sense for users. There are many ways to connect with the course, to experience the ideas and conversations with others, and to explore the evolving nature of online learning in a unique context. I must say that it takes a lot of courage to do what George and Stephen are attempting. I consider myself pretty experienced with these kinds of things and tools–even the content–and yet I feel a little anxious standing at the front door of this classroom. I couldn’t even get the Google map to include my pin.

It made me think of a little book called “The Circus of Dr. Lao,” although I doubt we will suffer the fate of the community in that little piece of art.

This course is free and open to anyone who wants to take a romp through this rich landscape of learning. If you love learning for the sake of learning, this is a great place to come and play.

3 thoughts on “Connectivism course: nifty (and a little scary) design

  1. It took me a while on the Google map thing, but then realized that the instructions would not directly apply if you were already logged in. So, I logged out of Google first, then it actually worked. So yea, I have even done that before and I still couldn’t figured it out for about 10 minutes.

    CCK08 will be a really neat experience to deconstruct. There are so many angle of study right now, I wish I had more time to focus on some of the neat pieces.

  2. What I love about the design is that in a way, it can’t miss. When you go this big, if 800 people get something good out of it, that’s a pretty big success, right. In smaller classes, the per-person satisfaction rises in importance.

    This is so cool to watch happen, and to applaud Stephen and George for taking your idea and pushing it out there.

Leave a Reply

