Posted by: Richard Schwier | August 26, 2011

Indiana University to offer online Ed.D. in Instructional Systems Technology

Yesterday, I received an important announcement from Ted Frick, Professor and Chair of the Department of Instructional Systems Technology at Indiana University, Bloomington.  Full disclosure:  I am an alumnus of IU and this program, so I have a bunch of loyalty and affection for the program and its people. I don’t pretend to be objective or dispassionate, but I do think this is a great opportunity for a lot of our own graduate students, who are looking for a top tier online doctoral program.

Here is Ted’s announcement:

I am pleased to announce that the new online Ed.D. in IST has very recently been approved by the Indiana Commission for Higher Education.

You can read about this in yesterday’s press release:

http://newsinfo.iu.edu/news/page/normal/19372.html

More information will be forthcoming as we begin to advertise this new program on our IST website and through IUconnectED. We expect the launch date to be in August, 2012, and to begin accepting applications later this fall.

I did not realize, until I read the press release, that IST is offering the first online doctorate at Indiana University.

–Ted Frick
Professor and Chair
Department of Instructional Systems Technology
Indiana University Bloomington


Responses

  1. Hello! I’m looking into instructional technology master’s programs, and I recently applied to Indiana University’s online program. I was wondering if you could let me know more about the education you received through their program. Were the programs similar to what you have encountered in the field? I’m a teacher and new to instructional design, was the instructional design process thoroughly explained? Were you able to participate in an internship or practicum experience, and if so, how helpful was the university in helping you find an organization or company to work with? Please e-mail me with your response, I greatly appreciate your help!


Leave a Reply

Categories

