The E-Learn Preconference Summit at the University of Hawaii at Manoa

“The E-Learn Preconference Summit at the University of Hawaii at Manoa”
Free!!!
Date: Monday October 17, 2011
Time: 1 to 5 pm
(with an optional lunch at 11:00 am and potluck pizza dinner at 5:30 pm )
RSVP: http://tinyurl.com/Elearn-Summit

Are you attending the E-Learn 2011 conference in Honolulu next month? Those arriving early to E-Learn might be interested presenting their innovative research and development efforts in a highly interactive and informal environment (perhaps expanding on ideas or topics that they will later present at the conference). They might also present a totally different project or initiative (perhaps you have an experimental or pilot project that just got funded or a new technology tool that you have developed). Perhaps you have designed a new instructional model or online learning framework. There will be four sessions and four presenters per session. Each presentation will be 9-10 minutes long. A discussant will end each session.

You need not be a presenter to attend this preconference session, Many of you might want to simply listen to the ideas of others and engage in some intense discussions. Still others might want to bring their graduate students to a highly informative and more intimate preconference session. If so, welcome to the E-Learn Preconference Summit at the University of Hawaii at Manoa. Your role: sit, observer, share, present, discuss, or whatever you would like.

If you would like to make a short 9-10 minute presentation of your research or development efforts or just plan to attend without presenting, please complete this form: http://tinyurl.com/Elearn-Summit by 5 pm EST on Friday October 7th. Accepted proposals and a final schedule will be announced on Tuesday October 11th.

See below for event coordinators, location, and schedule. Feel free to forward this to interested colleagues, students, and other guests coming to the conference. We hope to see you there. Taxis can be taken from the Sheraton Waikiki to the Willows or the University of Hawaii. Groups might meet in the hotel lobby 30 minutes prior to the event and share a ride.

Event Coordinators and Contact Info:
Curtis P. Ho, University of Hawaii at Manoa, curtis@hawaii.edu
Peter Leong, University of Hawaii at Manoa, peterleo@hawaii.edu
Tom Reynolds, National University, treynold@nu.edu
Curt Bonk, Indiana University, cjbonk@indiana.edu

Location:
University of Hawaii at Manoa
1776 University Avenue
Wist Hall 135
Honolulu, HI 96822
(upper left corner on this map, http://manoa.hawaii.edu/campusmap/uhmmap.pdf)

Lunch:
The Willows
901 Hausten Street
Honolulu, Hawaii 96826
http://willowshawaii.com/
Note: Cost for buffet lunch is $19.95 plus tax and 15% gratuity (so about $24 should do it). Comes with coffee or tea but drinks are extra.

Tentative Program and Schedule:
11:00 Lunch at the Willows
12:45-1:00 Meet and greet and set up
1:00-1:05 Welcome from Curtis, Peter, Tom, and Curt
1:05-1:50 Session #1 (9-10 minutes for each presenter and brief 4-5 minute discussant at the end of each session)
1:50-1:55 Curt and Curtis lead in brief audience stretching and reflection/interaction activity
1:55-2:40 Session #2
2:40-2:50 Audience questions for first 2 session participants
2:50-3:05 Break and refreshments for 15 minutes (coffee and tea)
3:05-3:50 Session #3
3:50-3:55 Tom and Peter lead audience in brief reflection/interaction activity
3:55-4:40 Session #4 Most Innovative Paper/Idea/Topic Session
4:40-4:50 Audience questions and reflections for sessions #3 and #4
4:50-5:00 Quick comments and reflections from all the presenters, discussants, and hosts
5:30 Potluck Pizza ($5 contributions from those who stay for it)

Final Note: A presentation from Dr. Tom Reeves, University of Georgia, will take place after the potluck pizza. This is free to attend as well.

Public events hosted by LearnCentral.org

 

Below are this weeks public, free, and interactive webinars from LearnCentral.org

BACK TO SCHOOL SPECIAL (TL Cafe)
Mon 12 Sep 08:00PM New York / Tue 13 Sep 12:00AM GMT / Tue 13 Sep 10:00AM Sydney
Gwyneth Jones. Back to School Special: Best Year Ever!
http://www.learncentral.org/node/169124

EPCOP MOOC WEBINAR (Australia Series)
Mon 12 Sep 09:00PM New York / Tue 13 Sep 01:00AM GMT / Tue 13 Sep 11:00AM Sydney
Coach Carole.
http://www.learncentral.org/node/167794

“MINI-GEEK FEST” MONTHLY ONLINE CONVERSATION SEPTEMBER, 2011 (AzTEA 2.0 Professional Development)
Mon 12 Sep 09:00PM New York / Tue 13 Sep 01:00AM GMT / Tue 13 Sep 11:00AM Sydney
Peggy George. Fun, open, sharing session of web 2.0 tools and teaching resources. Join us and come prepared to share your favorites. Do you get excited and energized by talking with other educators about technology tools and resources? Do you often feel overwhelmed with all of the new tools and feel you don’t have time to keep up with everything? If you do, then the Mini-Geek Fest is here for you! No homework, no assignments, no cost—just an hour online, once a month to listen, share and discuss technology tools for your classroom, websites and more. Join co-hosts Kim Thomas and Peggy George in AzTEA Elluminate from the comfort of your own home. Professional Development credit (1 hour) will be available. The show will be on the second Monday of each month, 6-7PM (MST-AZ). It’s not a presentation or a tutorial, but a conversation–think of it like a “show and tell” where ALL participants can contribute. Shows will be recorded and archived so you can listen to the recordings later if you can’t participate in the live sessions. We look forward to an exciting and interesting conversation!
http://www.learncentral.org/node/168992

WHAT HAVE YOU BEEN UP 2.0? (Australia Series)
Tue 12 Sep 02:00AM New York / Tue 13 Sep 06:00AM GMT / Tue 13 Sep 04:00PM Sydney
Anne Mirtschin. This is an unconference Tech Talk Tuesdays session,where participants can share what they have been up to in learning and teaching. Bring your favourite technological tools, newest experiments, ideas, resources, problems, issues and open them up for discussion.
http://www.learncentral.org/node/171833

TALLER MEMORIAS EN RED – #DDHHYC (Host Your Own Webinar Series)
Tue 13 Sep 11:30AM New York / Tue 13 Sep 03:30PM GMT / Wed 14 Sep 01:30AM Sydney
Luz Pearson. 4to encuentro de la comunidad de aprendizaje del curso Memorias en red
http://www.learncentral.org/node/169727

HOWARD GARDNER ON COGNITIVE SCIENCE AND SCHOOL REFORM (Future of Education Series)
Tue 13 Sep 08:00PM New York / Wed 14 Sep 12:00AM GMT / Wed 14 Sep 10:00AM Sydney
Steve Hargadon. Join Steve Hargadon on Tuesday, September 13th, for a live and interactiveFutureofEducation.com webinar with Harvard professor and well-known author Howard Gardner. In particular, we are going to talk about the new edition of his 1991 book, The Unschooled Mind: How Children Think and How Schools Should Teach, looking at school reform from the perspective of cognitive science.
http://www.learncentral.org/node/171686


The 2011 Worldwide Virtual Library Conference
November 2 – 3, All Free, All Online in Blackboard Collaborate
Submit to present or to be kept informed at http://www.Library2011.com

The 2011 Global Education Conference
November 14 – 18, All Free, All Online in Blackboard Collaborate
Submit to present or to be kept informed at http://www.GlobalEdCon.com


GETTING TEENS & TWEENS TO READ W/ANITA BEAMAN (ISLMA) (Host Your Own Webinar Series)
Wed 14 Sep 07:30PM New York / Wed 14 Sep 11:30PM GMT / Thu 15 Sep 09:30AM Sydney
Lisa Perez. Attend this session with Anita Beaman to learn how to get teens and tweens excited about reading. This event is hosted by the Illinois School Library Media Association (ISLMA).
http://www.learncentral.org/node/168240

APRENDIZAJE EN RED CON USO DE TIC (ARTIC) – SESIÓN 5 (Host Your Own Webinar Series)
Thu 15 Sep 07:00PM New York / Thu 15 Sep 11:00PM GMT / Fri 16 Sep 09:00AM Sydney
Diego Leal. Quinta sesión del curso abierto ArTIC (http://artic.pbworks.com)
http://www.learncentral.org/node/170230

SAM CHALTAIN ON “FACES OF LEARNING” (Future of Education Series)
Thu 15 Sep 08:00PM New York / Fri 16 Sep 12:00AM GMT / Fri 16 Sep 10:00AM Sydney
Steve Hargadon. Join Steve Hargadon on Thursday, September 15th, for a live and interactiveFutureofEducation.com webinar Sam Chaltain, DC-based writer and education activist, on his new book Faces of Learning: 50 Powerful Stories of Defining Moments in Education. Sam was a guest last year onFutureofEducation.com to talk about his previous book, American Schools: The Art of Creating a Democratic Learning Community, and we’ll continue our conversation on education using his collection of the personal learning stories of fifty individuals–from well-known public figures to ordinary Americans–who share “inspirational stories about transformational teachers, powerful learning environments, and pivotal moments of self-discovery.”
http://www.learncentral.org/node/171713

CLASSROOM 2.0 LIVE-LIZZIE CHASE (AU) (Classroom 2.0 LIVE)
Sat 17 Sep 12:00PM New York / Sat 17 Sep 04:00PM GMT / Sun 18 Sep 02:00AM Sydney
Peggy George. Lizzie Chase, Australian educator, will share a series of free downloadable English lessons at http://otherworlds.yolasite.com for upper primary and lower secondary students, integrating Web 2.0 tools into student responses to 12 books, so that they can create multimedia texts. There is a focus on research skills, digital storytelling and visual arts tools.
http://www.learncentral.org/node/171720

O-MUN DEBATE (Host Your Own Webinar Series)
Sun 18 Sep 08:30AM New York / Sun 18 Sep 12:30PM GMT / Sun 18 Sep 10:30PM Sydney
Luc Noordholland de Jong. Students will simulate the United Nations and debate the issue of cyber warfare. Please register via http://o-mun.org/register and learn more about our program at http://o-mun.org/about. To learn more about the event please visit http://events.o-mun.org/243896/show.
http://www.learncentral.org/node/171271

September 2011 CIDER Session

We would like to invite you to the opening presentation of our fall series of free online CIDER sessions.  This session features a presentation and discussion with Dr. Iain Doherty, University of Auckland.Title: Project Based Learning for Effective Postgraduate Distance Education

Iain Doherty will discuss the pedagogical principles underlying a taught postgraduate distance course, ClinED 711 eLearning and Clinical Education. The aim of ClinED 711 is to teach clinical educators the necessary knowledge and skills to convert their own courses for flexible and distance delivery. ClinED 711 was designed to offer a personalized and authentic learning experience and Iain’s presentation will focus on how these aims were progressively realized through refining and improving the course design for ClinED 711. Whilst ClinED 711 is a specialized postgraduate course, the principles for the design and delivery of the course should be of interest to a wide audience.

When: Wed., Sept. 7th, 2011, 11am – 12pm Mountain Time (Canada)
*Local times for the CIDER sessions are provided on our website: http://cider.athabascau.ca/CIDERSessions/

Where: The CIDER sessions have moved to Adobe Connect!  To join this session go to:https://connect.athabascau.ca/cider/
 
Pre-Configuration:
Please note that it is extremely important that you get your system set up prior to the start of the event.  Make sure your Mac or PC is equipped with a microphone and speakers, so that you can use the audio functionality built into the web conferencing software.  Also, the Adobe Connect platform may require an update to your Adobe Flash Player.  Allow time for this update by joining the session 20 minutes prior to the scheduled presentation start time.

**************************************************************

 
CIDER sessions are brought to you by the Centre for Distance Education, Athabasca University – Canada’s Open University and leader in professional online education.