Posted by: Richard Schwier | September 12, 2011

Public events hosted by LearnCentral.org

 

Below are this weeks public, free, and interactive webinars from LearnCentral.org

BACK TO SCHOOL SPECIAL (TL Cafe)
Mon 12 Sep 08:00PM New York / Tue 13 Sep 12:00AM GMT / Tue 13 Sep 10:00AM Sydney
Gwyneth Jones. Back to School Special: Best Year Ever!
http://www.learncentral.org/node/169124

EPCOP MOOC WEBINAR (Australia Series)
Mon 12 Sep 09:00PM New York / Tue 13 Sep 01:00AM GMT / Tue 13 Sep 11:00AM Sydney
Coach Carole.
http://www.learncentral.org/node/167794

“MINI-GEEK FEST” MONTHLY ONLINE CONVERSATION SEPTEMBER, 2011 (AzTEA 2.0 Professional Development)
Mon 12 Sep 09:00PM New York / Tue 13 Sep 01:00AM GMT / Tue 13 Sep 11:00AM Sydney
Peggy George. Fun, open, sharing session of web 2.0 tools and teaching resources. Join us and come prepared to share your favorites. Do you get excited and energized by talking with other educators about technology tools and resources? Do you often feel overwhelmed with all of the new tools and feel you don’t have time to keep up with everything? If you do, then the Mini-Geek Fest is here for you! No homework, no assignments, no cost—just an hour online, once a month to listen, share and discuss technology tools for your classroom, websites and more. Join co-hosts Kim Thomas and Peggy George in AzTEA Elluminate from the comfort of your own home. Professional Development credit (1 hour) will be available. The show will be on the second Monday of each month, 6-7PM (MST-AZ). It’s not a presentation or a tutorial, but a conversation–think of it like a “show and tell” where ALL participants can contribute. Shows will be recorded and archived so you can listen to the recordings later if you can’t participate in the live sessions. We look forward to an exciting and interesting conversation!
http://www.learncentral.org/node/168992

WHAT HAVE YOU BEEN UP 2.0? (Australia Series)
Tue 12 Sep 02:00AM New York / Tue 13 Sep 06:00AM GMT / Tue 13 Sep 04:00PM Sydney
Anne Mirtschin. This is an unconference Tech Talk Tuesdays session,where participants can share what they have been up to in learning and teaching. Bring your favourite technological tools, newest experiments, ideas, resources, problems, issues and open them up for discussion.
http://www.learncentral.org/node/171833

TALLER MEMORIAS EN RED – #DDHHYC (Host Your Own Webinar Series)
Tue 13 Sep 11:30AM New York / Tue 13 Sep 03:30PM GMT / Wed 14 Sep 01:30AM Sydney
Luz Pearson. 4to encuentro de la comunidad de aprendizaje del curso Memorias en red
http://www.learncentral.org/node/169727

HOWARD GARDNER ON COGNITIVE SCIENCE AND SCHOOL REFORM (Future of Education Series)
Tue 13 Sep 08:00PM New York / Wed 14 Sep 12:00AM GMT / Wed 14 Sep 10:00AM Sydney
Steve Hargadon. Join Steve Hargadon on Tuesday, September 13th, for a live and interactiveFutureofEducation.com webinar with Harvard professor and well-known author Howard Gardner. In particular, we are going to talk about the new edition of his 1991 book, The Unschooled Mind: How Children Think and How Schools Should Teach, looking at school reform from the perspective of cognitive science.
http://www.learncentral.org/node/171686


The 2011 Worldwide Virtual Library Conference
November 2 – 3, All Free, All Online in Blackboard Collaborate
Submit to present or to be kept informed at http://www.Library2011.com

The 2011 Global Education Conference
November 14 – 18, All Free, All Online in Blackboard Collaborate
Submit to present or to be kept informed at http://www.GlobalEdCon.com


GETTING TEENS & TWEENS TO READ W/ANITA BEAMAN (ISLMA) (Host Your Own Webinar Series)
Wed 14 Sep 07:30PM New York / Wed 14 Sep 11:30PM GMT / Thu 15 Sep 09:30AM Sydney
Lisa Perez. Attend this session with Anita Beaman to learn how to get teens and tweens excited about reading. This event is hosted by the Illinois School Library Media Association (ISLMA).
http://www.learncentral.org/node/168240

APRENDIZAJE EN RED CON USO DE TIC (ARTIC) – SESIÓN 5 (Host Your Own Webinar Series)
Thu 15 Sep 07:00PM New York / Thu 15 Sep 11:00PM GMT / Fri 16 Sep 09:00AM Sydney
Diego Leal. Quinta sesión del curso abierto ArTIC (http://artic.pbworks.com)
http://www.learncentral.org/node/170230

SAM CHALTAIN ON “FACES OF LEARNING” (Future of Education Series)
Thu 15 Sep 08:00PM New York / Fri 16 Sep 12:00AM GMT / Fri 16 Sep 10:00AM Sydney
Steve Hargadon. Join Steve Hargadon on Thursday, September 15th, for a live and interactiveFutureofEducation.com webinar Sam Chaltain, DC-based writer and education activist, on his new book Faces of Learning: 50 Powerful Stories of Defining Moments in Education. Sam was a guest last year onFutureofEducation.com to talk about his previous book, American Schools: The Art of Creating a Democratic Learning Community, and we’ll continue our conversation on education using his collection of the personal learning stories of fifty individuals–from well-known public figures to ordinary Americans–who share “inspirational stories about transformational teachers, powerful learning environments, and pivotal moments of self-discovery.”
http://www.learncentral.org/node/171713

CLASSROOM 2.0 LIVE-LIZZIE CHASE (AU) (Classroom 2.0 LIVE)
Sat 17 Sep 12:00PM New York / Sat 17 Sep 04:00PM GMT / Sun 18 Sep 02:00AM Sydney
Peggy George. Lizzie Chase, Australian educator, will share a series of free downloadable English lessons at http://otherworlds.yolasite.com for upper primary and lower secondary students, integrating Web 2.0 tools into student responses to 12 books, so that they can create multimedia texts. There is a focus on research skills, digital storytelling and visual arts tools.
http://www.learncentral.org/node/171720

O-MUN DEBATE (Host Your Own Webinar Series)
Sun 18 Sep 08:30AM New York / Sun 18 Sep 12:30PM GMT / Sun 18 Sep 10:30PM Sydney
Luc Noordholland de Jong. Students will simulate the United Nations and debate the issue of cyber warfare. Please register via http://o-mun.org/register and learn more about our program at http://o-mun.org/about. To learn more about the event please visit http://events.o-mun.org/243896/show.
http://www.learncentral.org/node/171271


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Categories

%d bloggers like this: